A better Europe now: launch of the Spring Alliance Manifesto

A Spring Alliance debate with the leaders of the democratic parties from the EU Parliament on Tuesday 8 April 2014, 14.00 – 17.30

The event will take place at the European Economic and Social Committee, Room JDE 51.

The discussion will focus on the 6 key priorities of the new Spring Alliance Manifesto “A better Europe now”:

•    Improve Democracy    
•    Build More Cohesive and Equal Societies    
•    Ensure Quality Employment for All    
•    Promote Environmental Sustainability
•    Live Up to our Development Commitments
•    Revise Economic Policies

This event will look at how the new Commission and President can put Europe back on track, asking the Candidates what are their priorities for 2014-2019.



14:00-14:10    Welcome:       Jane Morrice, EESC Vice-president

14:10-14:30    Introduction:    Who the Spring Alliance represents and why this Manifesto

 Heather Roy, President of Social Platform 
Jozef Niemiec, ETUC Deputy General Secretary
Jeremy Wates, Secretary General of EEB
Seamus Jeffreson, Director of CONCORD

 14:30-16:00    Panel debate on the Spring Alliance six priorities: 
                         Which of our six key priorities will you tick?

  • Ensure transparency and stronger democratic accountability of the EU institutions towards citizens 
  • Reduce poverty and guarantee universal social protection
  • Invest into a European plan that focuses on sustainable jobs which create social value, rather than on financial profits
  • Significantly reduce Europe’s environmental footprint by putting in place effective policies in the areas of climate, energy efficiency, renewables, biodiversity, air quality, chemicals and waste and product design
  • Implement a coherent global justice policy: stop resource grabbing, allow other continents to develop themselves and refrain from bilateral trade and investment deals which undermine the protection of public interests 
  • End austerity and implement tax justice

Moderator: Simon Wilson 


Hannes Swoboda, President of the S&D Political Group
Olle Schmidt, Vice-President of the ALDE Political Group
Jean Lambert, Greens’ representative 
Fabio Amato, European Left’s representative
Eva Majewski, EPP’s representative 
Heather Roy, President of Social Platform 
Bernadette Ségol, ETUC General Secretary
Jeremy Wates, Secretary General of EEB
Seamus Jeffreson, Director of CONCORD

16:00-16:25    Debate with the audience

16:25-16:30    Conclusions:        Georgios Dassis, President of the EESC Workers' Group (Group II)

16:30-17:30    Networking cocktail


To register for the event please fill in this form by April 1. For further information, you can contact Francesca Parente